Minimalist Film Posters

So I recently blogged about some minimalist branding design I had been reading about, now I stumbled upon some really interesting minimalist film posters. They are all so simple and often feature only the film title on the poster with the most basic of imagery but all somehow convey perfectly the film they represent. I think being able to put across an idea using the most simple of graphic design shows a true artist. Here are a couple of my favourites:

Image

 

This one is for the Quentin Tarantino film ‘Reservoir Dogs’. It is one of my favourite films anyway so I had to include this poster in my blog post. The crayons refer to the main characters, as they are all given nicknames of colours, i.e. ‘Mr White’, ‘Mr Orange’, etc. This poster was created by Ibraheem Youssef.

 

Image

 

This poster by Grischa Stanjek, for ‘Requiem for a Dream’, is slightly more minimalist than the first poster but still puts across the message of the film and is eye-catching at the same time.

 

Image

 

I am unsure of the artist/designer who created this piece, however, I am sure that everyone who has seen ‘Pulp Fiction’ will agree with me when I say that they have created a perfect representation of the film. The simple silhouette of the three main characters’ hair works perfectly as they all have such distinct hairstyles, even without the text on the poster, it would still be evident to film lovers which film the poster is referring to. Hopefully, I will be able to create some artwork as interesting and bold as these posters.

Leave a Reply

