Metalwork Induction

I really enjoyed the metalwork induction as it was more practical and hands on than many of the other inductions. This is because of my background in product design. The workshop involved applying images to the surface of metal sheeting by eroding away part of the metal using chemicals and light exposure. The image can either be seen on one side or you can apply it to both sides and erode both away to create a cut out effect.

I chose to use images from my narratives book project. The image I used for one side of the surface was of Vladimir Putin. The image I intended to cut out was the outline of Russia. The Putin image came out quite well however the cut out image just didn’t work. This was because the outline was too thin for the chemicals and light to erode through.

I hope to try out metal work again in the future by incorporating it into one of my projects in second year.

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

