Zine Research Books

Image

The first book I read as part of my research is one that I bought last year and have read numerous times. Fanzines by Teal Triggs is one of my favourite books and presents the conception, journey and development of zines in such an interesting and engaging way. The book is full of examples of some of the best and most iconic zines alongside some lesser known pieces that were even more underground than the typical zine. The visual examples are the best in this book, it gave me so much inspiration to see how I wanted to go about presenting my work to make it clear yet aesthetically pleasing stylistically.

Image

Image

Girl Zines by Alison Piepmeier was equally as interesting but did not provide me with as much inspiration. I think this was because the book exclusively discussing the movement of zines aimed at females and by females (obvious from the title!) and kind of left me no further forward with any research on my chosen topic of zine. However, there was a really interesting section which discussed the importance of zines and how much they mean to people. I love the thought that someone appreciates something so much more because they can sit and hold it in their hands and physically touch and see it. I agree wholeheartedly that I appreciate art, music, books, photographs and all sorts of things so much more when I have them in my hands as opposed to on a computer screen.ImageNotes From Underground: Zines and the Politics of Alternative Culture was a really good read and gave me a vast knowledge of the background of zines but the lack of many visuals led to me being slightly confused and I had to go back and research a bit more on the internet.

 

Leave a Reply

